Applied Geography


last person joined: one second ago 

The Applied Geography Specialty Group aims to increase the visibility of applied geography in the profession and the general population and facilitate communications among the Group members; promote and recognize individual excellence in applied geographic research.

Regular: $10
Student: $1

Chair: Hannah Torres, University of Central Florida (Email:
Vice Chair: Dawna Cerney, Youngstown State University
Secretary: Heather Fischer, Oregon State University
Treasurer: Lauren Childs-Gleason, NASA
Student Representatives: Peter Macharia, Open University UK; Jordan P Smith, Arizona State University
Immediate Past Chair: Timothy Hawthorne, University of Central Florida
Anderson Medal Committee Chair: Mike DeMers, New Mexico State University
Awards Committee Chair: Thomas Thaler, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences

Follow us on Twitter: @applied_geog
Follow us on Facebook: Applied Geography SG facebook page


  • The Applied Geography Specialty Group board would like to extend a warm welcome to our new Awards Committee chair and members: Dr. Thomas Thaler (chair), University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences; Dr. Dan Runfola, College of William and Mary; Huanfa Chen, University College London; and Lauren Childs-Gleason, NASA (and our current treasurer). Thank you for your involvement!

    AGSG members: Keep an eye out for our 2019 call for award applications (coming soon), and don't forget to also follow us on Twitter to stay up-to-date!
  • Please vote on amended AGSG bylaws

    The Applied Geography Specialty Group (AGSG) Board has revised and amended the group's constitution and bylaws to reflect current practices and procedures. As per the previous bylaws, such revisions must be distributed for a vote and approved by at least 60% of the voting membership. Only current members of the AGSG are eligible to vote. To view the amended bylaws, please click here, and then submit your vote using this Google Form. Voting will remain open from August 17-August 27, 2018.