## **LASG Business Meeting Minutes**

Thursday, 4/12, 7:10-7:40 pm
Galerie 1, Marriott, 2nd Floor
New Orleans, LA
LASG Officers:
Johnny Finn (Chair)
Federica Bono (Vice Chair)
Deneielle Perry (Secretary-Treasurer)

### 1. Chair's Report (Finn)

- a. Vote to accept 2017 minutes: Approved
- b. Finn discussed size of this year's AAG, future AAG meeting sites, and total number of sessions sponsored by LASG (20)
- c. Updates re: LASG at AAG 2018
  - i. 20 sessions sponsored
  - ii. LASG co-sponsorship of inaugural JLAG lecture: Dr. Fernando Funes Monzote
  - iii. Official events (Party with CLAG)

#### 2. Graduate Student Awards

- a. Recognition of committees
- b. Announcement of 2018 Award Winners
  - i. Field Study Awards (MA: Patel; PhD: Mills-Novoa)
  - ii. Paper Awards (PhD: Counter)
- c. Vote to change award structure
  - Overview of current situation: Not very many submissions in the MA and Coauthored paper award category. Finn argued that it doesn't seem to be working to have three separate award categories, since all together they generate very few total submissions (e.g. 2 total paper submissions for all three awards in 2017 and 2018).
  - ii. Discussion to collapse all paper awards into a single category, and the committee judging the papers can take different levels of authors and multiple authored papers into account in their judging.
  - iii. Move to vote, seconded
  - iv. Unanimous approval

# 3. Proposal to increase dues

- a. \$8/\$2 to \$10/\$5
- b. Move to approve by Margaret Wilder, seconded by Barbara Fredrich, unanimous approval

## 4. Proposal to change to bylaws:

- a. OLD: Article VIII: Nominations and Elections: Nominations for offices being vacated will be made from the floor at the annual business meeting, with elections to be at the same meeting.
- b. NEW: Article VIII: Nominations and Elections: Nominations for offices being vacated will be <u>up to 30 days prior to the annual business meeting</u>, and nominees will be announced to the LASG membership via the LASG discussion board. Elections to be at the annual LASG business meeting.

- c. Motion to approve by Taylor Mack, seconded by Rob Kent, unanimous approval
- 5. Nominations and elections for Officers
  - a. Chair
    - i. Nominations: Ben Gerlofs, uncontested
    - ii. Unanimous approval
  - b. Vice Chair
    - i. Nominations: Johnny Finn, Federica Bono
    - ii. Vote: unanimous Johnny Finn
  - c. Secretary/Treasurer:
    - i. Nominations: Beth Bee, Denielle Perry
    - ii. Vote: unanimous Beth Bee
  - d. Student Directors (up to three)
    - i. Nominations: Adam Dohrenwend, Vanessa Guerra, Karen Hudlet Vazquez
    - ii. Vote: unanimous vote in favor of all three
- 6. Secretary/Treasurer's Report
  - a. Membership (417)
  - b. Account balance before New Orleans \$ 4,034.29
  - c. 2018 AAG expenditures include:
    - i. \$1,000 Field Study Award PhD
    - ii. \$500 Field Study Award MA/MS
    - iii. \$200 Best Paper Award PhD
    - iv. \$500 CLAG/LASG party
  - d. Account balance after New Orleans \$1,834.29