## **SEDAAG** wins National World Geography Bowl Competition



Winning team members (L to R) Matthew Holden (University of Mary Washington), Michael Husebo (Georgia State University), Ronnie Schumann (University of North Carolina Charlotte), Meagan Todd (University of Kentucky), Byron Smith (University of South Carolina), and Nicholas Campiz (University of Florida). Not shown is Ben Shultz (University of Tennessee). Photo credit: Jim Ketchum, AAG.

SEDAAG was the winning team at the World Geography Bowl Competition, held at the 2010 AAG annual meeting in Washington D.C. on April 15. The team consisted of the highest individual scorers from the Southeast Regional bowl which was held at the SEDAAG annual meeting in Knoxville, TN. Coordinating was Dr. Jackie Gallagher (University of Mary Washington), stepping in for Dr. Jennifer Collins (University of South Florida) who coached the team for several years previously. SEDAAG and the AAG provide funding to student team members to help cover costs of attending the meeting.

The competition consisted of eight teams from around the country, with every AAG division fielding a team except for SWAAG (Southwest Association of American Geographers). Each team faced each other during the round robin event, and finalists were determined based on record and total points. The SEDAAG team was the second-

highest scoring team overall, and played against the East Lakes team in the final, which was very close.