• 2020 TGSG Award Winners

    Dear Transport Geographers,


                I hope this finds you all well and taking good care during these uncertain and difficult times. I want to express my best wishes to you and your families.

                 I am delighted to share with you the winners of the 2020 Transportation Geography Specialty Group Awards. We will be posting virtual award acknowledgements on the TGSG website later, and we plan on honoring any awardees from 2020 who can make it to the 2021 meeting in person in Seattle. Please join me in congratulation our winners!


    Master’s Thesis Award:

    Yun-Hsuan Chen, “Determinants of Flight Delays in East Asia: Airport, Route, and Network,” supervised by Jen-Jia Lin, National Taiwan University


    Ph.D. Dissertation Award: 

    Joris Beckers, “The Logistics Sector in a Consumer Driven Society: Essays on Location and Network Structure,” supervised by Ann Verhetsel, University of Antwerp


    Student Travel Awards: 

    Aimee Krafft, University of Nevada-Reno
    Elina Sukaryavichute, University of North Carolina-Charlotte


    Edward L. Ullman Award:

    Dr. Julie L. Cidell, Professor in the Department of Geography and Geographic Information Science at the University of Illinois.

    Dr. Cidell is urban geographer who studies transportation and mobility, urban sustainability, and local government. Her main interests center on the social, political, and environmental contexts and consequences of infrastructure and standards. She has published extensively on the impact of airport expansion on neighboring communities, the political ecology of green buildings, and the spatiality of hazardous materials transport. She is currently working on her third book, “An Introduction to Transportation Geography: Transport, Mobility, and Place” (Roman & Littlefield), and has published 2 other books, 32 peer-reviewed journal articles, 11 book chapters, and 18 other professional reports and reviews as author or co-author. Dr. Cidell is a past chair of the Transportation Geography Specialty Group, was Treasurer and Executive Councilor of the American Association of Geographers, and a board member of several other groups and committees in the AAG. Among her teaching profile are courses in transportation and sustainability, sustainable urbanism, global urbanization and city form, geography and technology, and transportation and mobility. She has also served on the editorial boards of the Journal of Transport Geography and The Professional Geographer.

    She earned her PhD in Geography from the University of Minnesota, and is a past winner of both the TGSG’s Master’s Thesis and PhD Dissertation Awards, as well as a finalist of the J. Warren Nystrom Award of the AAG in 2005. In addition to her position at the University of Illinois, he has held a visiting appointment at the University of Melbourne (Australia), and prior positions at California State-San Bernardino, California State-Sacramento, and as a transportation engineer in Boston. We look forward to her Fleming Lecture next year in Seattle and honoring all our awardees at the TGSG Business Meeting and the Fleming Lecture Reception!



  • Asst. Prof. in Physical Geography (Tenure-Track)

    Humanities and Social Studies Education

    National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

    Faculty Search 2020

    Asst. Prof. in Physical Geography (Tenure-Track)


    The Humanities and Social Studies Education (HSSE) Academic Group at the National Institute of Education in Singapore combines the expertise of scholars and experienced education specialists in history, geography and social studies to deliver impactful research and teacher education programmes. We offer an extensive range of courses focused on both classroom pedagogy and disciplinary content relevant to history, geography, and social studies educators, curriculum specialists, undergraduate teaching scholars and higher degree students. HSSE scholarship in educational practice ─ as well as in the disciplines of history, geography, and social studies ─ is relevant to a range of 21st Century issues fundamental to the preparation of professionals interested in academic careers, school leadership and educational specialisations. HSSE also has several collaborative projects focused on digital humanities, sustainability, and disciplinary thinking that focus on innovations designed to lead practice and guide change in education.

    HSSE Academic Group intends to appoint a tenure-track Assistant Professor in Physical Geography, with preferred specializations in any of the following: 

    • Hydrometeorology 
    • Biogeography / Landscape Ecology 

    This position provides opportunity to conduct research in the applicant’s area of specialization and teach geography content at the world’s #11-ranked university (QS World University Rankings). In addition, there are unique opportunities to link content and geographic education research through the Sustainability Learning Lab and the IoT@NIE Learning Lab. 


    Successful candidates must have :

    • A PhD in Geography, with specialization in Hydrometeorology or Biogeography / Landscape Ecology or related fields, from an internationally acclaimed institution at the time of appointment.
    • Experience with, and an ability to teach, GIS, remote sensing, statistics, and geographic techniques. 
    • A good track record in research, including publication or a promising trajectory in research and publication for early career scholars.  
    • Demonstrated experience leading undergraduate field research.
    • A good track record in teaching both undergraduate and graduate levels as well as in-service professional development courses.
    • Familiarity with the Singapore geography curriculum and the Singapore education system strongly preferred.
    • Excellent interpersonal, communication and technology skills and dedication to academic teaching excellence and collegiality.




    Successful candidates will be expected to:

    • Build up a strong research and publication record.
    • Teach undergraduate-level, post-graduate level and in-service professional development courses in Physical Geography. 
    • Supervise and mentor undergraduate pre-service teachers in their school teaching practice and capstone Geography fieldwork and research projects.
    • Supervise Masters and PhD dissertation work.
    • Undertake any administrative duties or committee work required as exigencies of service.




    Please click the apply button and submit the following documents to us:


    • A research statement
    • A teaching statement
    • A detailed curriculum vitae including a publication list, three writing samples and names of three referees and your desired starting date of employment
    • List of your best publications
    • Any other documents beyond those listed here or requested on the application form that demonstrate your qualifications and credentials



    Closing Date

    This position will remain open until filled.


    Other Information

    For enquiries, interested applicants may write to A/P Ivy Maria Lim at     


    Note to applicants

    We regret that only successful candidates will be notified (via email).