2021 Award Applications (open)

The Applied Geography Travel Award

This award is open to all members of the specialty group who are presenting in any research-related capacity at the meeting. Applicants must be dues-paying members of the Applied Geography Specialty Group to be eligible for consideration. Multiple awards will be granted to cover the cost of registration for the 2022 Annual Meeting (amount depending on virtual or in-person registration). If selected, awards will be distributed to registered awardees before the meeting. Awardees are expected to attend the AGSG business meeting during the 2021 AAG meeting to be recognized for their achievement. Funding is not guaranteed as applications are selected competitively. Applications are due no later than Jan. 9, 2022.

The Applied Geography travel award application will ask you to provide the following information:

  1. Email
  2. Name
  3. Conference PIN (8-digit PIN assigned upon registration)
  4. Position (student, faculty, practitioner, etc.)
  5. Institution
  6. Presentation Title
  7. Abstract
  8. Session Type
  9. How does your research fit into the broader field of Applied Geography? (No more than 150 words)
  10. How would this award support your ability to participate in the Annual Meeting? (No more than 150 words)

The Anderson Medal of Honor Award

This award is the highest distinction which the Applied Geography Specialty Group (AGSG) can bestow. The Medal is awarded by the AGSG Board of Directors in recognition of the most distinguished service to the profession of geography. For information about the James R. Anderson Medal of Honor in Applied Geography, please click here. If you have any questions, please reach out to Dr. Michael N. DeMers at Applications are due no later than Dec. 1, 2021.